News Feed

MEDIA RELEASE: 2017 Safe Worker and Safe Employer Awards presented


March 20, 2017

For Immediate Release

2017 Safe Worker and Safe Employer Awards presented

Saskatoon, SK: WorkSafe Saskatchewan presented the 2017 Safe Worker and Safe Employer Awards today in Saskatoon.

2017 Safe Worker Award

WorkSafe Saskatchewan presents the Safe Worker award to a worker who goes beyond the expectations of their position to help create a safer workplace.

The 2017 WorkSafe Saskatchewan Safe Worker award winner is Heidi McCaskill, a parts person with Cervus Equipment Peterbilt, Regina, SK.

Heidi is the worker co-chair on the Cervus Equipment occupational health and safety committee. Heidi is always looking for ways to improve the safety culture at Cervus. She implemented the project to repaint the pit shop with traction paint. She has instituted safety signage and orders the appropriate safety supplies within budget. Heidi maintains the equipment that keeps her co-workers safe, including fire extinguishers, eye wash units and replacing face and grinder guards when necessary.

The two finalists for the 2017 Safe Worker Award are Jim Brown from Viterra Inc. and Echo Stringer, who works for Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority in Moose Jaw.

2017 Safe Employer Award

The 2017 Safe Employer winner is GFL Environmental Inc., Saskatoon, SK.

GFL strives for Mission: Zero in and away from the workplace. Employees actively embrace the safety culture and participate in five weekly live safety broadcasts. Employees use an app to communicate safety updates, road conditions and share information with satellite offices. GFL’s safety processes exceed what is required in federal and provincial regulations and their HAZMAT Tactical Workbook has been recognized and shared across Canada. The waste management company achieved COR in 2005 and signed the Saskatchewan Health and Safety Leadership Charter in 2015.

The two finalists for the 2017 Safe Employer Award are the R.M. of Wilton and Mosaic Potash Belle Plaine.

Fast facts:

WorkSafe Saskatchewan has presented the Safe Worker award annually since 2006.

WorkSafe Saskatchewan founded the Safe Employer award in 2007 to honour an employer who shows leadership in health and safety beyond the requirements of the industry and legislation.

Workplace peers and colleagues nominate the recipients of these awards. Two committees representing WorkSafe Saskatchewan, the Saskatchewan Federation of Labour, the Saskatchewan Safety Council and the Canadian Society of Safety Engineers adjudicate the nominations.

You can view a complete list of committee members and past winners at and

Nomination forms for the 2017 awards are available at

WorkSafe Saskatchewan is a partnership between the Saskatchewan Workers' Compensation Board and the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety.

In 2016, 88 percent of Saskatchewan employers achieved Mission: Zero.


For more information, please contact:
Heather Getz
Manager, Social Marketing
Saskatchewan Workers' Compensation Board
Phone: 306.787.4651
Text or cell: 306.533.9746

WorkSafe Saskatchewan is an injury prevention and workplace safety partnership between the WCB and the Ministry of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety. Through the partnership, both agencies offer programs and support that help employers and workers develop workplace health and safety programs. You can reach WorkSafe Saskatchewan at 1.800.667.7590. Follow WorkSafe Saskatchewan on Twitter @worksafesask.

Mission: Zero is an initiative to eliminate all injuries in Saskatchewan. Launched in 2008, the Mission: Zero campaign and programs drive home the effects of injuries and the importance of safety and injury prevention at home, work and play. The intent behind Mission: Zero is to bring about a significant reduction in the provincial injury rate.

MEDIA RELEASE - 2017 Safe Worker and Safe Employer Awards presented - March 20, 2017 (PDF)

Copyright 2019 SCSA. All Rights Reserved